The Julie Kramer Collection 1

  • Filename: the-julie-kramer-collection-1.
  • ISBN: 9781476730745
  • Release Date: 2013-07-30
  • Number of pages: 1040
  • Author: Julie Kramer
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster



A collection of three page-turners in Julie Kramer’s bestselling series featuring television reporter Riley Spartz—for fans of Janet Evanovich and Sue Grafton. Silencing Sam When a widely despised gossip columnist is found shot to death, TV reporter Riley Spartz must secretly investigate a case in which she becomes the prime suspect. Amid murder, she discovers news and gossip have more in common than she ever imagined. Killing Kate Crime-solving means high ratings for Minnesota TV reporter Riley Spartz when she nails the culprit behind Silencing Sam (“Sexy, sinister.” —Linda Fairstein). But the stakes rise when Riley must piece together a serial killer’s murderous motive for Killing Kate. Shunning Sarah When Riley hears that a young boy is trapped in a sinkhole located in the peaceful Amish farm country outside Minneapolis, her reporter’s nose catches the sweet odor of a TV sweeps piece. But not even Riley realizes just how big the story really is…

The Julie Kramer Reader s Companion

  • Filename: the-julie-kramer-reader-s-companion.
  • ISBN: 9781476730851
  • Release Date: 2013-07-23
  • Number of pages: 320
  • Author: Julie Kramer
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster



A collection of excerpts from Julie Kramer’s novels. SILENCING SAM In this town, gossip kills . . . When a widely despised gossip columnist is found shot to death, Riley Spartz must secretly investigate a case in which she becomes the prime suspect. In the wake of the brutal murder, she discovers that news and gossip have more in common than she ever imagined. KILLING KATE Not all angels are divine . . . As TV reporter Riley Spartz discovers a serial killer drawing chalk outlines shaped like angels around the bodies of his victims, she unearths an eerie legend dating back nearly a century. Tracking clues to an Iowa cemetery, Riley finds an infamous Black Angel monument that may be connected to the string of homicides throughout the Midwest. Now she is up against a delusional young man who believes the statue is urging him to kill. SHUNNING SARAH An insular Amish town . . . A secret that won’t stay buried . . . Minneapolis’s star investigative reporter Riley Spartz is constantly in search of her next TV sweeps piece. When she hears that a young boy is trapped at the bottom of a sinkhole, she smells ratings. Little does she know just how big the story will be—not only does it involve a tragic murder, but the local Amish community as well. Once Riley is on the case, though, she sees that solving it will be anything but easy. DELIVERING DEATH Be careful what you open… When Riley Spartz receives a package of teeth in the mail at work, she’s quickly embroiled in a homicide investigation that spirals into one of the odder cases the Minneapolis police force has ever seen. Though the cops try to keep certain grisly details quiet, this murder has a strange twist—it seems that the killer wants the crime publicized. As the stakes continue to rise for her job and her life, Riley must outwit the killer in a trap that could leave yet another person dead...

Stalking Susan

  • Filename: stalking-susan.
  • ISBN: 9780748112494
  • Release Date: 2010-02-04
  • Number of pages: 320
  • Author: Julie Kramer
  • Publisher: Hachette UK



Television reporter Riley Spartz is recovering from a heart-breaking, headline-making catastrophe when a long-time police source drops two homicide files in her lap in the back of a dark movie theatre. Both cold cases involve women named Susan strangled on the same day, one year apart. Last seen alive in one of the poorest neighbourhoods, their bodies are each dumped in one of the city's wealthiest areas. Riley senses a pattern between those murders and others pulled from a computer database of old death records. She must broadcast a warning soon, especially to viewers named Susan, because the deadly anniversary is very fast approaching. But not just lives are at stake - so are careers!

The Member of the Wedding

  • Filename: the-member-of-the-wedding.
  • ISBN: 9780141190822
  • Release Date: 2012-04-26
  • Number of pages: 240
  • Author: Carson McCullers
  • Publisher: Penguin UK



With delicacy of perception and memory, humour and pathos, Carson McCullers spreads before us the three phases of a weekend crisis in the life of a motherless twelve-year-old girl. Within the span of a few hours, the irresistible, hoydenish Frankie passionately plays out her fantasies at her elder brother's wedding. Through a perilous skylight we look into the mind of a child torn between her yearning to belong and the urge to run away.

The New Midwestern Table

  • Filename: the-new-midwestern-table.
  • ISBN: 9780307954879
  • Release Date: 2013
  • Number of pages: 399
  • Author: Amy Thielen
  • Publisher: Clarkson Potter



Applies the author's professional expertise as gleaned from work under such chefs as David Bouley and Shea Gallante to classic Midwestern dishes from her childhood, demonstrating how to best enjoy simple heritage fare that is plentiful, affordable and seasonal.

The Republic of Rock

  • Filename: the-republic-of-rock.
  • ISBN: 9780195384864
  • Release Date: 2013-06-27
  • Number of pages: 292
  • Author: Michael J. Kramer
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press



In his 1967 megahit "San Francisco," Scott McKenzie sang of "people in motion" coming from all across the country to San Francisco, the white-hot center of rock music and anti-war protests. At the same time, another large group of young Americans was also in motion, less eagerly, heading for the jungles of Vietnam. Now, in The Republic of Rock, Michael Kramer draws on new archival sources and interviews to explore sixties music and politics through the lens of these two generation-changing places--San Francisco and Vietnam. From the Acid Tests of Ken Kesey and the Merry Pranksters to hippie disc jockeys on strike, the military's use of rock music to "boost morale" in Vietnam, and the forgotten tale of a South Vietnamese rock band, The Republic of Rock shows how the musical connections between the City of the Summer of Love and war-torn Southeast Asia were crucial to the making of the sixties counterculture. The book also illustrates how and why the legacy of rock music in the sixties continues to matter to the meaning of citizenship in a global society today. Going beyond clichéd narratives about sixties music, Kramer argues that rock became a way for participants in the counterculture to think about what it meant to be an American citizen, a world citizen, a citizen-consumer, or a citizen-soldier. The music became a resource for grappling with the nature of democracy in larger systems of American power both domestically and globally. For anyone interested in the 1960s, popular music, and American culture and counterculture, The Republic of Rock offers new insight into the many ways rock music has shaped our ideas of individual freedom and collective belonging.

Risk Regulatory and Monitoring Considerations

  • Filename: risk-regulatory-and-monitoring-considerations.
  • ISBN: 1574770950
  • Release Date: 2000
  • Number of pages: 438
  • Author: Godage B. Wickramanayake
  • Publisher:



- Regulatory Perspectives and Decision-Making- Advances in Site Characterization- Environmental Data Management, Geostatistics, and GIS- Advances in Analytical and Detection Techniques- Risk-Based Analyses for Remediation- Human Health/Ecological Risk Assessment- Technical Impracticability- Long-Term Monitoring and Optimization- Innovative Monitoring and Control Systems.

Mapping Feminist Anthropology in the Twenty First Century

  • Filename: mapping-feminist-anthropology-in-the-twenty-first-century.
  • ISBN: 9780813574301
  • Release Date: 2016-07-07
  • Number of pages: 310
  • Author: Ellen Lewin
  • Publisher: Rutgers University Press



Feminist anthropology emerged in the 1970s as a much-needed corrective to the discipline’s androcentric biases. Far from being a marginalized subfield, it has been at the forefront of developments that have revolutionized not only anthropology, but also a host of other disciplines. This landmark collection of essays provides a contemporary overview of feminist anthropology’s historical and theoretical origins, the transformations it has undergone, and the vital contributions it continues to make to cutting-edge scholarship. Mapping Feminist Anthropology in the Twenty-First Century brings together a variety of contributors, giving a voice to both younger researchers and pioneering scholars who offer insider perspectives on the field’s foundational moments. Some chapters reveal how the rise of feminist anthropology shaped—and was shaped by—the emergence of fields like women’s studies, black and Latina studies, and LGBTQ studies. Others consider how feminist anthropologists are helping to frame the direction of developing disciplines like masculinity studies, affect theory, and science and technology studies. Spanning the globe—from India to Canada, from Vietnam to Peru—Mapping Feminist Anthropology in the Twenty-First Century reveals the important role that feminist anthropologists have played in worldwide campaigns against human rights abuses, domestic violence, and environmental degradation. It also celebrates the work they have done closer to home, helping to explode the developed world’s preconceptions about sex, gender, and sexuality.

DMCA - Contact