Never Say Die

  • Filename: never-say-die.
  • ISBN: 9780062223845
  • Release Date: 2013-01-29
  • Number of pages: 224
  • Author: Will Hobbs
  • Publisher: Harper Collins



In this fast-paced adventure story set in the Canadian arctic, fifteen-year-old Inuit hunter Nick Thrasher comes face-to-face with a fearsome creature on a routine caribou hunt gone wrong. Part grizzly, part polar bear, this environmental mutant has been pegged the “grolar bear” by wildlife experts. Nick may have escaped this time, but it won’t be his last encounter. Then Nick’s estranged half-brother, Ryan, offers to take him on a rafting trip down a remote part of the Firth River. But when disaster strikes, the two narrowly evade death. They’re left stranded without supplies—and then the grolar bear appears. Will Hobbs brings his singular style to this suspenseful story about two brothers fighting for survival against the unpredictable—and sometimes deadly—whims of nature.

Never Say Die

  • Filename: never-say-die.
  • ISBN: 9780307379603
  • Release Date: 2011-02-01
  • Number of pages: 352
  • Author: Susan Jacoby
  • Publisher: Vintage



Susan Jacoby, an unsparing chronicler of unreason in American culture, now offers an impassioned, tough-minded critique of the myth that a radically new old age—unmarred by physical or mental deterioration, financial problems, or intimate loneliness—awaits the huge baby boom generation. Combining historical, social, and economic analysis with personal experiences of love and loss, Jacoby turns a caustic eye not only on the modern fiction that old age can be “defied” but also on the sentimental image of a past in which Americans supposedly revered their elders. Never Say Die unmasks the fallacies promoted by twenty-first-century hucksters of longevity—including health gurus claiming that boomers can stay “forever young” if they only live right, self-promoting biomedical businessmen predicting that ninety may soon become the new fifty and that a “cure” for the “disease” of aging is just around the corner, and wishful thinkers asserting that older means wiser. The author offers powerful evidence that America has always been a “youth culture” and that the plight of the neglected old dates from the early years of the republic. Today, as the oldest boomers turn sixty-five, it is imperative for them to distinguish between marketing hype and realistic hope about what lies ahead for the more than 70 million Americans who will be beyond the traditional retirement age by 2030. This wide-ranging reappraisal examines the explosion of Alzheimer’s cases, the uncertain economic future of aging boomers, the predicament of women who make up an overwhelming majority of the oldest—and poorest—old, and the illusion that we can control the way we age and die. Jacoby raises the fundamental question of whether living longer is a good thing unless it means living better. Her book speaks to Americans, whatever their age, who draw courage and hope from facing reality instead of embracing that oldest of delusions, the fountain of youth. From the Hardcover edition.

Never Say Die

  • Filename: never-say-die.
  • ISBN: 9780730400974
  • Release Date: 2010-04-01
  • Number of pages: 320
  • Author: Chris O'Brien
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Australia



How a grim diagnosis transformed the life of one of Australia's top cancer specialists. It was a cruel twist of fate: in November 2006 Chris O'Brien, one of Australia's leading head and neck cancer surgeons, was diagnosed with an aggressive and almost inevitably lethal form of brain cancer. As he knew, few sufferers survive past twelve months. Nevertheless, he was determined to beat the odds. With the support of his close family, O'Brien took the option of radical brain surgery under the supervision of well-known neurosurgeon Dr Charlie Teo. His health and relative youth - he was fifty-four when diagnosed - helped him with the painful transition from doctor to patient, and renewed his faith in the importance of an optimistic outlook as the cornerstone of recovery. Here, in his bestselling memoir, Chris O'Brien looked back over his life and the forces that shaped him - from his modest beginnings and early years as a doctor to becoming the face of the television show RPA, and from his crusade for the establishment of integrated cancer centres, through to the shocking news that changed his life. In June 2009, after living with cancer for two and a half years, Chris O'Brien passed away. To the end he was optimistic and generous, relaying his energies into fundraising for an integrated cancer centre, the Chris O'Brien Lifehouse at Royal Prince Alfred hospital. Honoured as an Officer in the Order of Australia, he was described by Prime Minister Kevin Rudd as 'a truly exceptional Australian'.

Never Say Die

  • Filename: never-say-die.
  • ISBN: 9783110820805
  • Release Date: 1981-01-01
  • Number of pages: 779
  • Author: Joshua A. Fishman
  • Publisher: Walter de Gruyter



CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE SOCIOLOGY OF LANGUAGE brings to students, researchers and practitioners in all of the social and language-related sciences carefully selected book-length publications dealing with sociolinguistic theory, methods, findings and applications. It approaches the study of language in society in its broadest sense, as a truly international and interdisciplinary field in which various approaches, theoretical and empirical, supplement and complement each other. The series invites the attention of linguists, language teachers of all interests, sociologists, political scientists, anthropologists, historians etc. to the development of the sociology of language.

Never Say Die

  • Filename: never-say-die.
  • ISBN: 9781460375181
  • Release Date: 2014-05-01
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Author: Tess Gerritsen
  • Publisher: Harlequin



Twenty years after her father's plane crashes in the jungles of Southeast Asia, Willy Jane Maitland is finally tracking his last moves. She recognizes the danger, but her search for the truth is the only thing that matters. Willy knows she can't proceed without the help of ex-army officer Guy Barnard, who knows the mysterious land well. But in a place where truth has many faces, she suspects even Guy has hidden motives. What she couldn't have prepared for are the shocking secrets and the undeniable attraction. "Gerritsen is tops in her genre." - USA TODAY

Never Say Die

  • Filename: never-say-die.
  • ISBN: 9781909489868
  • Release Date: 2014-07-03
  • Number of pages: 150
  • Author: David Tinkler
  • Publisher: Chicken House



Twelve-year-old farm boy Benedict Dingle Flint is more of a dreamer than a fighter. But when he's blown up, that all changes! He becomes Firebrand Flint, an accidental real-life hero who, together with his best friend Alfie, joins the British Resistance and takes on the Nazis. The Bandits' motto? Never say die, the war's not over yet.

Never Say Die

  • Filename: never-say-die.
  • ISBN: STANFORD:36105073161114
  • Release Date: 1998-01-01
  • Number of pages: 315
  • Author: Wanyiri Kihoro
  • Publisher: East African Educ Press



Described as the most sensational security, diplomatic and judicial quagmire in post-independence Kenya, this is the first-hand testament of a political prisoner's struggle to survive. The prominent and internationally respected Kenyan attracted wide local and international support, with many organisations and individuals supporting his efforts to be freed. His arrest took place in 1986 and for over three years he was in the hands of the security system. He suffered inhuman torture, the authorities being suspicious of his political activities. Here he recounts the story, step-by-step, both of his own treatment and the legal and humanitarian work to get him released.

Never Say Die

  • Filename: never-say-die.
  • ISBN: 9780007321063
  • Release Date: 2009-11-26
  • Number of pages: 352
  • Author: Melanie Davies
  • Publisher: HarperCollins UK



On a Saturday morning in May 1980, Melanie Bowen, a pretty fifteen year old, ran down the stairs of her parents’ home in Port Talbot, grabbed her leather jacket and crash helmet, yelled a goodbye, and then walked out of the front door into the sunshine for what was to be the last time in her life. Never Say Die is the true story of what followed...

Never Say Die

  • Filename: never-say-die.
  • ISBN: 9781524739317
  • Release Date: 2017-10-10
  • Number of pages: 368
  • Author: Anthony Horowitz
  • Publisher: Penguin



The world’s greatest teen spy is back in action in a thrilling new mission: destroy once and for all the terrorist organization SCORPIA. Americans may have purchased more than 6 million copies of Alex's adventures, but now, more than ever, we all need his heroics. Following the events of Scorpia Rising, Alex relocates to San Francisco as he slowly recovers from the tragic death of his best friend and caregiver, Jack Starbright, at the hands of terrorists working for SCORPIA. With Jack gone, Alex feels lost and alone, but then, out of the blue, he receives a cryptic email--just three words long, but enough to make Alex believe that Jack may be alive. Armed with this shred of hope, Alex boards a flight bound for Egypt and embarks on a dubious quest to track Jack down. Yet SCORPIA knows Alex's weakness. And the question of whether Jack is alive soon takes a backseat to a chilling new terrorist plot--one that will play with Alex’s mind as he grasps the magnitude of what is at stake. From Egypt to France to Wales, from luxury yachts to abandoned coal mines, Alex traverses a minefield of dangers and cryptic clues as he fights to discover the truth. The #1 New York Times bestselling series, perfect for fans of James Bond and Jason Bourne, is back with a vengeance!

Never Say Die

  • Filename: never-say-die.
  • ISBN: 0373632258
  • Release Date: 1998-01
  • Number of pages: 347
  • Author: Warren Murphy
  • Publisher: Worldwide Library



Discovering bizarre genetic links between a series of killings, CURE's Dr. Harold Smith puts Remo and Chiun on a decades-old trail that eventually leads to a shadowy global security corporation. Original.

Never Say Die

  • Filename: never-say-die.
  • ISBN: 1551661764
  • Release Date: 1996
  • Number of pages: 250
  • Author: Tess Gerritsen
  • Publisher: Mira Books



Drawing near to the truth about her father's fatal plane crash twenty years earlier, Willy Jane Maitland becomes involved with irreverent ex-army officer Guy Barnard, an expert on the Asian jungles where the crash took place. Reissue.

DMCA - Contact